LIFE ENDS SOON: Tired of the race?

runnerLife is a race … and it’s ending for us all … it’s only a matter of time.

I so much want my life to count for Jesus Christ, but there are bills to pay and the job’s demands, errands to run, house work to do, a family for which to care, abundant tests and obstacles, and it is always a challenge!  I relate to Paul who said:

“For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.”   – [Romans 7:14-25]

613x459I am also reminded of these words by Jesus:

“And it came to pass, that, as they went in the way, a certain man said unto him, Lord, I will follow thee wherever you go. And Jesus said unto him, Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay his head. And he said unto another, Follow me. But he said, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father. Jesus said unto him, Let the dead bury their dead: but go thou and preach the kingdom of God. And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house. And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God. – [Luke 9:57-62]

runner-wins-the-raceHowever, we must do as the writer of Hebrews said:

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted. In your struggle against sin you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood.” – [Hebrews 12:1-4]

Crying OlympianAs you read Hebrews 12:1 above, you can almost hear those saints, who have gone before, like an enormous roaring crowd of spectators cheering for us.  Many of them have suffered cruelty and martyrdom and they cheer us onward!  Many of them know what temptation, discouragement, and loneliness is like. We must remember that this race is for eternal reward. Some will rejoice at the end of the race. Some will shed tears.

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.” – [1 Corinthians 9:24-27]

lympicsOur efforts will be rewarded if we do not grow weary:

“Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life. And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.” – [Galatians 6:7-10]

Only One LifeYour life may end today. You may only have a couple of steps left in the race.  Make them count.

